[NEW] Kid Cudi – King Wizard (Prod. Kid Cudi)

Over the summer, Cleveland’s Kid Cudi announced his upcoming project, Indicud, and gave his fans a reason for optimism with an anthem of a first single. This evening, he brings us the second glimpse into the project with “King Wizard.” Once again showing off his production chops, the moon man creates a simple, but effective, synth melody over which he delivers a confident chanting chorus with his highly expressive voice. He then proceeds to deliver several strong verses, assuring the listener that, despite a brief hiatus from hip-hop, the introspective rapping Cudi hasn’t gone anywhere.

Yesterday, “King Kendrick” was born and today we hear from “King Wizard” in what has already been an awesome week for hip-hop. Indicud is due out later this year and, with two solid releases, may be what many loyal fans have been waiting for. Stream and download this new cut below and let the speculation begin!

Kid Cudi
King Wizard (Prod. By Kid Cudi)
Related items:

[Glitch/Dubstep] Pretty Lights – So Bright

Derek Vincent Smith AKA Pretty Lights needs no introduction. Known for his signature hip-hop soul infused dubstep and glitch-hop tunes, Pretty Lights has without a doubt forged his role as one of the most dominant figures in all of EDM. Today, Pretty Lights released his latest effort “So Bright”. “So Bright” is reminescient of some of Smith’s older material featuring ominous deep bass, infectious piano melodies, and expertly selected vocal sampling. Soon after this tracks release Derek stated on Facebook that he was not intending to release this track before the release of his forthcoming album. As a result of the track leaking, Pretty Lights has stayed true to his belief that all his music should be available for free so definitely give this song a listen, snag a free download and if you’re a fan make sure to hop over and support PL on Beatport. Enjoy.

“So Bright” is out now on Beatport via Pretty Lights Music.

Pretty Lights
So Bright (Original Mix)
Related items:

Ellie Goulding – Some Nights (fun. cover, radio rip)

While on BBC’s Radio 1 this morning, the endlessly talented Ellie Goulding covered fun.’s hit “Some Nights”. By adding her wonderfully distinct and airy vocals, she’s made the already anthemic single more uplifting, graceful, and unsurprisingly, has turned it into a very interesting rendition. It’s not the most polished, obviously, given that it was done live, but still a must listen! Check out the radio rip below.

Ellie Goulding
Some Nights by Fun (BBC Radio 1 Live Lounge)

via Prefix

Related items:

[MP3 Playlist] Indie Dojo (October 2012 Round #1)

Change is in the air as the transition from the hot and sweaty Summer to the cool and crisp Fall begins. And as much as we like to keep the Indie Dojo constant, every Tuesday comes a list of songs that are hand picked from previous days of searching the interwebs, we are going to roll with the leaves and try a little change ourselves. Although searching for songs to grace your loyal ears is one of the most rewarding hobbies around, it feels as if there are a million katrillion more wonderful songs we might be missing out on. So here’s the change a coming. If you think you or someone else has got the last puzzle piece to complete a week of the indie/folk theme of the Dojo, send it on over to allegra@themusicninja(dot)com and it will be auditioned for the part. The only condition is, there will be no promises your submissions will make it in. Think of it as a game of sharing with no expectations. Just a little change for the greater good of amazing, unheard music.

Download Zip: Indie Dojo [Mediafire]

Night Panther
Mind Enterprises
Summer War
The Sea and Cake
Gardens & Villas
Orange Blossom
Tu Fawning
To Kill A King




Related items:

[Massive] Kill The Noise & Feed Me – Thumbs Up (For Rock And Roll)

Did someone say Kill The Noise and Feed Me on the same track? Why make insane tunes by yourself when you can just team up with one of the other biggest names in the game. This is a collab for the record books featuring a hilarious sample from a little boy giving us speech to get you fired up for some brain scrambling filth from these two A-Listers. Both of their sounds complement each other perfectly delivering an extremely satisfying mix. The melody they use in the transitions is nothing short of amazing with monstrous synth work that grab you throughout the entire song. Turn this one up and enjoy this collab from these two bass gods. Cheers.

Kill The Noise & Feed Me
Thumbs Up (For Rock & Roll)
Related items:

[MP3 Playlist] The Trap Dojo: Volume #7

The Trap Dojo is here once again to take over the world, infusing everything we can with 808s and snares. Forget about cowbells, we need more gunshots.

Oh Snap!! hits us first with “Watup Bitch” an absolute club banger that could make any dance floor go crazy, love the 90′s vibe coming off Flygirls vocals. No word on when this one is coming out though. “Flex” by Solice starts off with a dance beat to keep those feet moving but comes out of nowhere (just like Solace did) with a huge haunting bass drop. CRNKN has been on such a massive roll lately and brings us two new tracks this week. Both are simply oozing with gangster swag and filled to the brim with gunshots and heavy beats and hooks. Dupstep pioneer Caspa remixed this Ludacris track way back in 2010. It didn’t get much attention or an official release then, but was just put back up for free on his Soundcloud this week. Up next are a couple sounds by OG Status, definitely a group to keep an eye on. The rest of the list is hit after hit, with ETC!ETC!, Brillz, TrapZillas and Big Chocolate  all going hard. Godmode get dark with their own brand of “Satanic Trap,” and Baauer shows his incredible diversity and ability to produce hype anthems as well as tracks like this remix of Brick + Mortar. 

As usual, we’ve been nice enough to do all the work for you and give you all the free tracks RIGHT HERE.

Watup Bitch ft. Flygirl Tee (Oh Snap!! Trap Remix)
Expendable Youth & CRNKN
How Low (Caspa Remix)
Seven Figures
Brillz, ETC!ETC! & Smile Future
Represent Your City
Danny Brown
Lie4 (Kaytradamus Remix)
HULK (Buzz Trillington † Shooter McNappin bootleg) DL in description
Blue Milk
Zeds Dead & Omar Linx
Cowboy (Young Mush TRAP$TEP Remix)
Drippin (Flight Facilities X Adventure Club)
Brick + Mortar
Move to the Ocean (Baauer Remix)
Related items:

[Experimental] SBTRKT – Terminal

We haven’t heard too much from the innovative U.K. based producer SBTRKT since his debut self-titled album inspired awe among both fans and critics last year. Although SBTRKT is often placed in the EDM genre, his experimentation with bass and unique percussion truly separates him from his colleagues. His latest track, “Terminal,” perfectly embodies the masked artist’s style drawing the listener in with an addicting and evolving loop that warps for just a second creating a sort of anxiety for its return. Despite the low-key feel, you will find it difficult to resist a bouncy head nod induced by this original creation. Check it below!

Related items: