[Seductive Collaboration] Snow Ghosts – Murder Cries (Houndstooth)


Take a singer with hauntingly beautiful lyrics and mix her sound together with an artist known for his unique sounds ranging from bass to juke to techno and what do you get? A stunning song that captivates from the very first note until the very last lyric. Ross Tones aka Throwing Snow collaborates with Hannah Cartwright, better known as Augustus Ghost, to make this one of a kind song. These two take their unmistakable musical talents and join to make Snow Ghosts with their debut album to be released on June 17th called “A Small Murmuration”. This first picturesque song off that album, “Murder Cries” is a visual video that starts with the strong sultry voice of Ghost over the selective sounds from Snow. Snow mixes guitar and violin to start the song before exposing an electronic melody that sweeps like strong waves against the shore through the rest of the song. The lyrics are equally eloquent painting a story with each word. Snow and Ghost make a fearsome duo that will surely flourish with their debut album.

Related items:

[Album Stream] She & Him – Volume 3

She & Him
Never Wanted Your Love

The cutesy, ever-catchy duo She & Him are gearing up to release their brand new album, Volume 3, on May 7th via Merge Records. We gave you a sneak peek of the LP with “Never Wanted Your Love” (above), but if that track’s not enough sweet vintage pop for you, fear not, dear ninja, as the whole record is streaming more than a week before its official release, courtesy of NPR. Enjoy.

Stream She & Him’s Volume 3.

Related items:

Jhameel x DWNTWN x Giraffage – Move Me

Jhameel x DWNTWN x Giraffage
Jhameel x DWNTWN x Giraffage
Move Me

Most of the artists involved in “Move Me” — and it’s a bit of a star-studded bunch — have graced The Music Ninja’s pages in the past, so posting this was a bit of a no brainer. (Plus, the track is part of a compilation put out by well-regarded French label Kitsuné!) Jhameel, DWNTWN and Giraffage come together for a real pleaser, full of cooing vocals and lush, sparkly production. And when the chorus descends upon you, it’s almost like being wrapped up in the many folds of a velvety blanket — its warm charm is nearly inescapable.

Download “Move Me” and the entire Kitsuné AMERICA 2 MiniMix by Jerry Bouthier here.

Related items:

[Dreamfolk] Mt. Wolf – Veins

Mt. Wolf

You may remember how we featured a cover of Usher’s “Climax” by this eclectic London-based band last year. We’re happy to say that Mt. Wolf returns with yet another dream-like track, “Veins”, off their second EP. Kate Sproule’s formidable vocals are reminiscent of  Elena Torna’s delicate voice from indie folk band Daughter. Rest assured, the tune’s composition of transcendental synths, soft strings, and an impassioned voice will undoubtedly leave you in nothing less than a utopian state.

Sink into the full effect of their second EP Hypolight, available now.

Or indulge into the official music video for  their leading single “Hypolight“.


Related items:

[Hip-Hop] Chance The Rapper – Acid Rap


As we’ve touched on before, Chicago has been a mecca for extraordinary young talent in hip-hop recently. While Chitown has always has always had representation from some of the hottest lyricists in the game, the city’s been yearning for its next big star. We may have found the answer in Chance The Rapper. After months of anticipation, we finally have our hands on Acid Rap, the follow-up to last year’s debut mixtape, 10 Day. It’s remarkable to see how far Chance has come in just one year. His flow is still whimsical and melodic, and his rhymes are as witty as ever, yet it’s evident through his music that Chance has definitely matured. He’s also accrued a couple of nice cosigns since we last heard from him, including the likes of Action Bronson, Childish Gambino, Ab-Soul and Twista. Take this “chance” to check out a few of the standout tracks below, and make sure to give your blessing by downloading the tape here.

Chance The Rapper
Chance The Rapper
NaNa (ft. Action Bronson)
Chance The Rapper
Favorite Song (ft. Childish Gambino)
Chance The Rapper
Cocoa Butter Kisses (ft. Vic Mensa & Twista)
Chance The Rapper
Smoke Again (ft. Ab Soul)
Related items:

[Beyond Words] Taped Rai – Epilogue: I & II – Shadow of The Sun

Taped Rai
Shadow of The Sun

We hear a lot of good music. It’s our job to sift through submission after submission. There are very few moments that we are completely blown away by something, but tonight is one of those moments. Swedish duo Taped Rai introduces their first release, “Shadow of The Sun,” after the collaboration with David Guetta on “Just One Last Time”. We’re honestly at a loss of words on how to describe this. The ethereal vocals are leaving us in complete awe, so we’ll just let you listen for yourself. Enjoy.

Related items:

[Amazing] X Ambassadors – Unconsolable (Free Download)

X Ambassadors

You gotta love when you stumble across a fantastic genre bending group; someone that really knows how to fuse styles together to create something really special. That’s exactly what we have here today for you. Brooklyn based quartet X Ambassadors, who recently signed to KIDinaKORNER/Interscope Records, are surely going to take the nation by storm with their new label backing.

Today we’re offering up a free download of a re-issued track “Unconsolable,” which is a reflection on the bands upbringing in Ithica. This track, which is a year old but still part of their debut EP Love Songs Drug Songs, features driving dark tribal drumming, emotionally crafted lyrics, and soft underlying guitars. Make sure to keep an eye out for this EP, as it comes out May 7th. Check out the YouTube snippet below.

Also, we’re pretty damn sure these guys would be amazing live. Check out their upcoming tour and snag tickets before it’s too late.

5/4 Brooklyn, NY Cameo
5/8 Raleigh, NC Red Hat Amphitheater w/ Imagine Dragons
5/10 Boca Raton, FL Sunset Cover Amphitheater w/ Imagine Dragons
5/11 St. Augustine, FL S. Augustine Amphitheater w/ Imagine Dragons
5/28 Los Angeles, CA Viper Room
5/30 Los Angeles, CA Hollywood Palladium w/ Imagine Dragons
5/31 San Francisco, CA America’s Cup Pavilion w/ Imagine Dragons
6/1 San Diego, CA SDSU Open Air Theatre w/ Imagine Dragons
6/3 Phoenix, AZ Comerica Theatre w/ Imagine Dragons

Related items: