FINALLY! Another leak of the debut solo album of Alexander Ebert, Lead singer of Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros. And most surprisingly is the fact that there isn’t a single sound on the ten-song album that Alexander didn’t perform himself.

Alexander – Million Years
Million Years by AlexanderEbert

Alone in his room, Alex had his guitar, a Lowery organ he picked up at a St. Vincent’s thrift store in Los Angeles for seventy bucks, a clarinet he used for the bridge on the record’s first single, “Truth,” and a violin he’d found somewhere in Tucson on tour. He had his own voice, his breath, his knees to slap, his fingers to snap and his toes to tap. When he knew that he wanted to use a violin on the bridge of “Glimpses,” he had an urge to call a friend to come play it for him, but then questioned why he wouldn’t try it himself. Says Alexander, “To me, it’s a very humble album with sky’s-the-limit sort of qualities, and so I didn’t really shy away from doing whatever I felt like doing.” – Press Release

As for the music itself, Alexander explains that some of the inspirations for the “mouth sounds” that you can hear throughout the record were from all-time- favorites of his like the 1970 chart-topping ditty “In The Summertime” by British band Mungo Jerry. He also notes that children’s clapping games like Patty Cake and infectious and optimistic Disney tunes like “Zip A Dee Do Da” served as loose inspirations for him.

ES&MZ stole our hearts in 2009 from the very day the released their debut album, now its very own front man is taking charge and leading us to his own journey of discovery.

Alexander will be released March 1st via Community Music.

Truth by Alexander Ebert

Alexander track listing:
1. Let’s Win
2. Awake My Body
3. Truth
4. In The Twilight
5. Bad Bad Love
6. Old Friend
7. A Million Years
8. Remember Our Heart
9. Glimpses
10. Let’s Make A Deal To Not Make A Deal

Related items::