Author Archives: Clayton Warwick

[Indie Rock] Seapony – Saw the Light

Saw the Light

When we stumbled across Seapony, we had a feeling they were from the Pacific Northwest. Something about their somewhat dreary take on surf rock has those Seattle vibes written all over it. To be honest, we’re all about what they’re laying down.

We’re a little bit behind the curve with this uniquely charming indie act, but we’re sure glad we finally caught up with their infectious sounds. “Saw the Light” features a hazy soundscape comprised of simplistic percussion, coastal guitar melodies, and a chilled out attitude perfect for a drive up the coast.

Make sure to keep an eye out for this four piece by following them on SoundCloud.

Related items:

[Smooth as Silk] Chris Stylez – Who Is (Kryptogram Remix)

Chris Stylez
Who Is (Kryptogram Remix)

Some of you are gearing for a wild weekend out on the town. Some of you are prepping for a relaxing weekend at home. Some of you are going through your checklist to properly woo that special someone this weekend. For those of you who are leaning towards the latter, Kryptogram has just the thing for you.

Originally crafted by NYC singer/songwriter Chris Stylez, “Who Is” was already rife with a strong message. Simply put, we can’t even classify these as innuendos. These lyrics very literally lay it all out there, and they also beg for a smooth, groovy beat. Luckily for us, this Chicago-based beatsmith saw things in just that light.

Taking this tune into the dancefloor, and most likely the bedroom, Kryptogram has dialed this with some timeless swagger. He brought in some 70’s style guitar flicks, future style synths, and, of course, some sexy, sexy sax. The mood he designed is absolutely perfect for the vocals, creating something that still maintains the original identity, yet brings an entirely new attitude.

Throw this on tonight at the end of your date. It’s a bold statement, but who could honestly resist it?

Related items:

[Indie Rock] Redspencer – Ride It Out

Ride It Out

Melbourne-based three piece Redspencer sure do have a warm, memorable, and iconic sound with their latest release, “Ride It Out.” It calls on associations of so much of that post-punk goodness we came to know and love during our musical discovery phase (which, we’re pretty sure we’re still in.)

Blogger jokes aside, this Aussie trio is the perfect accompaniment to a drive through rainy city streets, winding mountain roads or a sunny California highway. In all actuality, the echoing guitar notes casually flirt with the lead singer’s vocals, making a dreary yet enticing listening experience for whatever situation you find yourself in.

Follow these cats on SoundCloud so you can keep up with everything they have coming up,

Related items:

[Hip Hop] Azad Right – Mend My Heart (Freestyle)

Azad Right
Mend My Heart

One of our favorite Los Angeles-based hip-hop acts somehow flew under our radar last month with a fresh new freestyle, courtesy of, and it’s simply pure fire and finesse. We only wish we would have caught it earlier.

We had the opportunity to catch Azad Right and his freestyling abilities down in Austin during SXSW, and we have to admit we were pretty damn stoked to see something put on record. The backdrop is perfect for Right’s style, laid-back and nostalgic, providing the perfect accentuation to the casual, liquid flow we’ve come to know and love from this up and coming lyricist.

Related items:

[Folk] Mandi Mapes – Birmingham

Mandi Mapes Music

Every once in a while, it’s nice to take a break from the slew of emails, IMs, texts, and twitter submissions and just spend time hunting for music we love. That’s exactly what we did this morning, and we uncovered an absolute hidden gem.

Mandi Mapes has nine followers on SoundCloud. Her only song, assumedly her debut release, has a little under 50 streams, with a few of those coming from us hitting repeat. However, this will surely change soon, as people catch wind of her heartwarming, unassuming vocals, charming cadence, and thoughtful lyrics.

“Birmingham” is a peach of an indie folk song, recounting this singer/songwriter’s love for the Alabama city. It features plenty of southern flair, rife with bluesy riffs, accentuating brass, and the simple shake of a tambourine, all of which add to the infectious nature.

On her SoundCloud account, Mapes goes into detail on her affinity that inspired the song:

Birmingham, Alabama is a treasure. I had no idea the incredible decision I was making, the day I moved to Birmingham seven years ago. Everyone here has a story. Whether you’re a 23 year old hipster, playing in your first (and certainly not your last) band at Sound & Page. Or you’re a 65 year old African American woman who can still remember where she was the day 16th Street Baptist Church was bombed and four precious girls were killed. This is a city with scars & regrets, but also hope, forgiveness, plans for the future, a celebration of life, music and southern comfort food.
Related items:

[Deep House] Holland Park – Crime (ft. Liam Allan)

SPDEEP Holland Park ft. Liam Allan - Crime
Holland Park
Crime (ft. Liam Allan) (Original Mix)[Available June 1]

We’ve finally broken the streak of torrential downpour filled days here in Denver, which makes us believe that summer is now actually well within our reach. With the sun shining down, Ray Bans in full effect, and a new pair of flip flops, all we really need is choice tune to pair with these warm-weather vibes. Thanks to Spinnin’ Deep newcomer Holland Park and vocalist Liam Allan, we’re finally all set to enjoy the day.

Dropping earlier today, “Crime” certainly has a cultural, worldly, and playful sound to it. The combination of beachy percussion, Spanish guitars, casual whistling and smooth bassline create a soundscape prime for your summertime events. Allen’s vocals really help round out the tune, giving it tremendous depth and intrigue. Coupled with the instrumentals, they almost take on a Chris Issak vibe, which is impressive to those of you who are old enough to remember him.

Pick this tune up on June 21st for your next poolside, beachside, backyard BBQ, or late summer night.

Related items:

[House] Antony & Cleopatra – Take Me (Option4 Remix)

Antony & Cleopatra
Take Me (Option4 Remix)

Fresh off a few shows out in Detroit, this Denver-based maestro of grooves-n-moves is on point with his release game. Looks like a four-day party in the Motor City couldn’t hold him back for long. This time around, he’s put a bouncy twist on “Take Me.”

Originally from Londoners Antony & Cleopatra, “Take Me” came out a little over a week ago. It features sonic, soaring synths, energetic lead piano melody, and breakbeat style percussion, all of which lend to it’s delectable and intriguing style. Now, reimagined by option4, 90’s style dance elements are infused with a steady four-to-the-floor beat and that iconic pitched up vocal sample from the original.

As we continue our march into the weekend, we’re continually on the hunt for new tunes to shake it to. Big ups to option4 for the Thursday addition.

Related items: