CVIRO – Faded (The Kite String Tangle) [TMN PREMIERE]

Faded (The Kite String Tangle Remix)

Some dudes just have that gift. You know the one we’re talking about. It’s that thing that is blessed to a child at birth, providing handsome looks and a gorgeous voice to only a minute part of the male population. All of the rest of the men across the world jealously look on at these gifted chaps, wishing we had a sliver of that talent. From JT to Usher, we’ve all secretly danced in our bathroom mirrors, owning that fantasy, if only for a brief moment.

CVIRO, while not as well known as the aforementioned artists, definitely has that combination going. With devilish good looks, and a full, thick head of illustrious hair, we’re already kind of on edge. However, once this soulful RnB crooner comes over the airwaves, all of our stresses are melted away.

With a golden voice like this, we of course expect remixers to nervously chomp their nails, waiting for a chance to throw them over some beats. Fortunately for them, CVIRO is already very rooted in electronica, making the process all that easier. Luckily for him, he has one of TMN’s favorites, The Kite String Tangle mixing up elements from “Faded.”

With fluttering piano keys, a deep, hallow kick, and crackling atmospheric elements, this Brisbane based solo project has taken a sultry soul tune and dialed it up with a slightly more dancy beat. The percussion is absolutely flawless, creating a rythym that just can’t be stopped. We would be remiss not to mention the the use of the original vocals, which float effortlessly with the larger than life strings section.

In a swirling mass of harmonic glory, The Kite String Tangle offers up a truly spectacular remix, which will most certainly be on repeat here at TMN HQ.

Related items:

[House/Pop] John Newman – Love Me Again (David Dann Remix)

John Newman
Love Me Again (david dann Remix)

Los Angeles via New York producer David Dann has maintained a unique competence within electronic production, which in turn has fostered a rare ability to float seamlessly from one dance genre to the next, with highly acclaimed results. An artist whom the famed L.A. Weekly publication once dubbed “The Rebel Without a Label” now helms his own imprint Mind of A Genius Records (or more simply MOAG) while also somehow managing to find time to craft a multitude of original releases and remixes. Previously Dann has dabbled within reworks of The xx, Lana Del Ray and Banks to some superlative results, but his latest take on John Newman’s “Love Me Again” pulled at us like none of his previous body of work had before. Dann’s adaptation is bouncy in nature, but toned down with a low end, house-centric bass line to subdue the movement just enough; incredibly heightening the tune’s versatility. Dann’s pop production sensibility -which so many electronic producers of this generation typically lack- turns “Love Me Again” into an infectious dance hall melody with enough weight to be consumed in any circumstance. Whether it’s in the shower, car, in your headphones or getting your swoll’ on, we think “Love Me Again” will fit into your day just perfectly. Grab the free download here.

Related items:

[Folk] Opus Orange – Balance

Rhythmic, folkish, and fun, Opus Orange‘s brand new song, “Balance” embodies just the right amount of each said quality to create a lush soundscape, reflective of their Californian roots.
The track may only be 2 minutes and 45 seconds, but within a minute, I already found myself enjoying the song and effortlessly whistling along. Take a listen, and let me know if it had the same effect on you. With the new year just a few weeks away, we eagerly anticipate when Opus Orange will be releasing their upcoming “Balance” EP early 2014.
Related items:

[Chill] Ed Sheeran – I See Fire (Kygo Remix)

Ed Sheeran
I See Fire (Kygo Remix)

Fresh off of a viral tear on account of a gorgeous Marvin Gaye remix, Norwegian bred beatsmith Kygo has again struck a chord with us; this time taking Ed Sheeran’s “I See Fire” (which will soon find itself included on the original soundtrack for The Hobbit sequel: The The Desolation of Smaug) on a charming harmonic ride. While only 22 years of age, Kygo has continuously demonstrated a musically mature knack for bridging slow moving soulful ballads full of acoustic elements, and sprinkling them with enough sugar and melody to create an unexpected dance groove. While the heart of Ed Sheeran’s track remains vocally, it is the use of those signature seductive Kygo keys, and warm pads which really pulls “I See Fire” out of its original state. This one is definitely worth your listen today, and fortunately for now all of Kygo’s catalog has been given away for free including this one. Don’t miss out on adding this one to your music libraries today.

Related items:

[MP3 Playlist] Indie Dojo (Demember 2013 Round #1)




As the holidays fall upon us, the stress of finding the right gifts for our loved ones lingers over our heads and seeps into our wallets. If you’re looking for something cheap and meaningful, why not drop an Indie Dojo playlist in their lives? It’s free and gives the impression that it came right from your heart. And no matter if you are shopping for 1 or 50, we’ve got enough playlists for your sister’s cousins grandma’s best friend. Just head up to the menu bar at the top of this page, click “Playlists” —-> “Indie Dojo”, and you’ve got a bag full or goodies for all the little girls and boys.

World Dont Shine
Reilly Fitzalan
Your Stars
Jesse Davidson
Big Bois Gotta Eat
The Feathers
What If
Yourself In Peace
The Slavic Soul
Abram Shook
Related items:

[NEW] Childish Gambino – Earth: The Oldest Computer (The Last Night) (Feat. Azealia Banks)

childish gambino because the internet
Childish Gambino
Earth: The Oldest Computer (The Last Night) (Feat. Azealia Banks)

Spastic, reverberating, and high-energy make this new Childish Gambino single an addictive listen. “The Oldest Computer (The Last Night)” starts with a tranquil synth-beat intro that features the actor turned rapper singing the chorus. What starts peaceful quickly flips into a drum and bass fueled, pulsating electro beat that continues to grow in tempo and infectiousness. Don’t be fooled by the soft beginning, as Bino still manages to squeeze in some bars later in the track.

In contrast to his chill collaboration with Def Jam’s Jhene Aiko, “Bed Peace,” Childish enlists the vocal talents of Azealia Banks. No stranger to sporadic dance rhythms and synth-heavy production, the Harlem rapper trades tongue-twisting rhymes for some smooth crooning on the hook. As the single progresses over the four minutes, the mix of hard and soft melodies is abandoned at the last minute when the song erupts into pure pandemonium. This is yet another dope release from the young spitter and will be featured on his upcoming sophomore LP Because the Internet, available for pre-order now.

Related items:

[NEW] Childish Gambino – The Worst Guys (Feat. Chance The Rapper)

Chance & Childish

[Track Removed]

On one of the most highly anticipated tracks from Childish Gambino‘s Because The Internet, he recruits Chitown’s Chance The Rapper to return the favor on the playfully titled “The Worst Guys.” Disappointingly, Chance is only featured on the chorus, but this latest leak continues to raise our expectations of what to expect from the upcoming album. Make sure to grab yourself a pre-order of what’s sure to be one of the best projects to drop this year, before it hits shelves on December 10th.

Related items: